Stream a texture over the internet?

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
dorrax

Stream a texture over the internet?

Post by dorrax »

I have some interest in making a multiplayer game. I have no experience with server/client stuff, but I thought that the simplest way to set one up would simply to have the server render to texture and then send video and sound to the client, which sends back keyboard and mouse data. I think this would have several advantages and disadvantages.

ADVANTAGES:
Very simple client program
Almost impossible to hack the client to cheat
Client can run on weak computer
Client can connect to modded servers more easily

DISADVANTAGES
Server has to do a lot of work, rendering a different scene for each player
Very fast internet connection is needed
GPU has to send the texture back to CPU, which is probably not optimized

Thankfully I think that 320 by 240 is a decent resolution and I even find 160 by 120 acceptable, so that makes the textures small and makes this more feasible, but it still might be a challenge. Let's say we have a server with 10 clients connected. The server will render 10 views to 10 textures, 1 for each player. If each texture is 24 bits per pixel, and 320 by 240 pixels in size, that's 320 * 240 * 24 = 230kB per player or 2.3MB total for each frame. If the speed is 30 frames per second, that's 230kB per frame * 30 fps = 6.9MB per second. Most people don't have internet speeds that high, so some form of compression is probably needed, but that will add time for compression at the server, and time for decompression at the client end.

This is a challenging problem, but it's one I'm interested in. I think this is how OnLive does it's "Cloud Gaming", which I don't like the idea of, I just think it would be cool way for a user to set up a server for his friends, assuming he has a good enough computer.