v0.8 no textures in opengl also in Linux!

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
bal
Posts: 829
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 5:19 pm
Location: Geluwe, Belgium

Post by bal »

This is probably caused by pre-mature Linux drivers from your graphics card. What card/drivers do you have?
General Tools List
General FAQ
System: AMD Barton 2600+, 512MB, 9600XT 256MB, WinXP + FC3
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

latest available via portage: 66.29

they're not so old, are they? perhaps it's the card? (FX5200). Gonna try it on the other cards (5900 ultra, 6800GT) to see if it makes any difference. Anyway, I'm glad I can finally see the power of Irrlicht running in linux!!!

thnx for the interest bal!!! Any tip that comes from you Linux expertise would be nice.


:D
bal
Posts: 829
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 5:19 pm
Location: Geluwe, Belgium

Post by bal »

I'm no Linux expert at all :).
I guess the FX5200 serie doesn't support that type of pixel shader which Irrlicht also reports... Not because it's old, but because it's low-end.
General Tools List
General FAQ
System: AMD Barton 2600+, 512MB, 9600XT 256MB, WinXP + FC3
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

yup, with my other cards the examples run smooth as butter. I decided to use the lowest-en of my pcs to use Linux to see its true power in action. :D

so far it hasn't disappointed me, and if I need any stuff that requires better hardarwe specs I develop it on the other boxes. But it feels great to be able to do so much already in Linux. Nothing like the first time I tried linuz some 3 years ago!!!

thnx anyway bal.
MikeR
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Northern California USA
Contact:

Post by MikeR »

Afecelis,
Did you read the print on the screen?
It actually told you what the problem was. :lol:
(sorry, couldn't resist. Take a peek at your screenshot)
If it exists in the real world, it can be created in 3d

Sys specs:
AMD 3700+ 64 processor
1.0 gb ram
e-Geforce 6600 graphics 256 mb onboard ram
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

hehehehe yup! my bad! peeking, huh? peek_a_boo!

but I thought it was also a similar prob to the one I'm having with lightmapped files (other thread), where some of my Q3 bsps and My3d levels are only showing the lightmap info but not the difuse maps.

heheheh, so linux definitely stays for lower-end stuff!!! :D

but I think it's always great to have a system with lower specs for testing purposes; remember guys that when developing we must think more in an average user with an average pc :wink:

thnx MikeR!
MikeR
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Northern California USA
Contact:

Post by MikeR »

That's very true. When I build a game, I always ask someone with dialup and a low end machine to test it. That way, I know everyone can play.
If it exists in the real world, it can be created in 3d

Sys specs:
AMD 3700+ 64 processor
1.0 gb ram
e-Geforce 6600 graphics 256 mb onboard ram
William Finlayson
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:11 am

Post by William Finlayson »

It seems that part of your problem is that multitexturing still isn't available in Linux with Irrlicht. Luckily, the problem isn't hard to fix. Also, when I tried out 0.8, I saw that the shadows and some materials were still broken when using OpenGL. There are fixes for most of the problems in the forums. I used a gl extension loader lib to get around the trouble I had using them under linux, and now it seems that Irrlicht's OpenGL support for Linux works as well as the Windows one, and since fixing the materials with code from the forums, the graphics seem to behave in the same way as DirectX (from screenshots I've seen).
ErMurazor
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:00 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by ErMurazor »

Do anyone have a How-To summary to get the OpenGL support in Linux to correctly?
I know you can uncomment the bellow in CVideoOpenGL.cpp to get multitexturing support.

CVideoOpenGL.cpp

Code: Select all

// This works.
// But I am not able to test it out on my machine, because it doesnot have
// any 3d acceleration in Linux, even with new drivers. Uncomment this and set MultiTextureExtension to true if
// you want to use it.
//pGlActiveTextureARB = (PFNGLACTIVETEXTUREPROC)glXGetProcAddressARB(reinterpret_cast<const GLubyte*>("glActiveTextureARB"));
//pGlClientActiveTextureARB = (PFNGLCLIENTACTIVETEXTUREPROC)glXGetProcAddressARB(reinterpret_cast<constGLubyte*>("glClientActiveTextureARB"));
MultiTextureExtension = true;
But still textures and materials are not correct in example 02 the quake3map.
Project YAMMO and
Venom for Irrlicht (Python Irrlicht language binding)
http://www.stenhard.net
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

Interesting ErMurazor. But I gave it a try and got these compile errors:
CVideoOpenGL.cpp:344: error: `pGlActiveTextureARB' undeclared (first use this
function)
CVideoOpenGL.cpp:344: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
for each function it appears in.)
CVideoOpenGL.cpp:345: error: `pGlClientActiveTextureARB' undeclared (first use
this function)
make: *** [CVideoOpenGL.o] Error 1
but I think that's the way to go!

let's see if we can fix it.
ErMurazor
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:00 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by ErMurazor »

Sorry you need uncomment these lines also in CVideoOpenGL.cpp

Code: Select all

// extensions
//PFNGLACTIVETEXTUREPROC pGlActiveTextureARB = 0;
//PFNGLCLIENTACTIVETEXTUREPROC pGlClientActiveTextureARB = 0;
//PFNGLGENPROGRAMSARBPROC pGlGenProgramsARB = 0;
//PFNGLBINDPROGRAMARBPROC pGlBindProgramARB = 0;
Project YAMMO and
Venom for Irrlicht (Python Irrlicht language binding)
http://www.stenhard.net
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

GETTING CLOSE!!!

Post by afecelis »

Hey ErMurazor!

I started by simply switching it to "true"and this is what I got:
http://www.danielpatton.com/afecelis/sc ... /close.jpg

btw: this is how I'm getting things in OpenGl in windows as well.

now I'm gonna try the other thing you tell me.

thnx man!
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

ok, uncommented the other lines (extensions) and now the source compiles fine. But the result I got was the same; only lightmaps are loading, still missing the difuse maps mixed.

but I'm sure we're getting close!!!

anybody? perhaps the NX ppl can give us a hand here?
:wink:

ps. Oh yes! forgot, another screenie. This was one of Goretek's wallpapers; check it w/lightmaps only:
http://www.danielpatton.com/afecelis/sc ... close1.jpg
Murphy
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 12:06 am
Location: United States
Contact:

Post by Murphy »

Going through CVideoOpenGL this morning, I noticed something else which I didn't see mentioned here, which I think should be.

The bodies of extGlActiveTextureARB() and extGlClientActiveTextureARB() are empty when compiling under Linux because they're "#ifdef WIN32"ed. If you haven't yet removed those #ifdefs, do so.
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

trying immediately!

thnx Murphy!

hope it works, but I still get probs in windows as well with latest version.

one thing at a time, one thing at a time
Post Reply