Tiled terrain scene node

Announce new projects or updates of Irrlicht Engine related tools, games, and applications.
Also check the Wiki
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

addWaterSurfaceSceneNode manipulate wertices of scene node. In order to work with TlTerrainSceneNode it would need to manipulate data array.

If you want to have water in some parts of terrain I sugest to lower that area and place plane with water texture over it (you can use addWaterSurfaceSceneNode than). Terrain will than represent lake/river/sea bottom in this case.
You can even place water surface at given height and alll terrain lower than that will be "under water".

I think thats the simplest way howe to create water surface.
BlindSide
Admin
Posts: 2821
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 9:09 am
Location: NZ!

Post by BlindSide »

Nice arras, that will make gigantic landscapes easy. Especially if integrated with CLOD scene node :)
Strong99
Admin
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 7:06 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Strong99 »

the demo crashes after loading the random terrain, no debug information is sended,

i'am using windows dx 9
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

Demo use OpenGL not DirectX so check if you have latest version. If problem persist, can you please try to recompile source code?
krama757
Posts: 451
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 12:07 am

Post by krama757 »

Arras do you plan on allowing users to instead load multiple heightmaps and then use your terrain scene node to render them continuously?
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

I am just reworking whole code with some interesting resuls. TlTerrainSceneNode runs on more than double FPS now! ...but I haven't been planing to implement image heightmap loading yet. Mainly because I was not diging in part of Irrlicht which handle image manipulation till now and I don't know hove to do it.

I may look at it however if there is some interest ...and time.
Bob Finnie
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:36 pm
Location: Bedford, UK

Post by Bob Finnie »

Hi All,
I have been writing a tiled terrain editor for use with this node, including mainpulation/creation of heightmap, Changing tile/array size, textures and other information per tile so you can place objects, mark as water/obstacle etc...
I've also been adding to the source code to allow for the loading of this data... I will post it to the group, both the editor and the source changes as soon as it gets releasable

Its just a case of finding the time...

Hope this helps.

Regards,
Bob :)
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

Hi Bob, that is interesting, I am looking forward to see it :)
Just one question, what do you think, would it be better to separate terrain data (basicly data array) from node itself? And than pass pointer to node?
Bob Finnie
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:36 pm
Location: Bedford, UK

Post by Bob Finnie »

Hi arras,

good point. I was thinking about this when I was writing the loader. I couldn't at the time find a reason for it to be seperate, however, I have been thinking about the ability to 'stream load' data in when you move out of coverage. (Think Google Earth) Quite what implications this will have on the loader and whether the data needs be seperate to the node, I'm not sure yet.

I will share any ideas I have when I come across them. At the moment though, it seems just fine as part of the node.

btw - Great work on that arras, It was just the feature I needed to decide to use Irrlicht as the rendering engine for our project.

Regards,
Bob
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

I'am glad you found it so usefull. And welcome to Irrlicht comunity Bob :) Please feel free to post any ideas you may have.

Separated data might be useful if you switch between diferent scenes in game. For example indoor/outdoor. If independent, data do not have to be loaded each time. However stored inside node it looks more user(programer) friendly and compact.
varholl
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 6:59 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Post by varholl »

Hi everyone!!

I'm from Argentina and i'm new in the irrlicht community!!

I was looking the forums and read this thread, this terrain generator is awesome!!

But i need some help with other stuff... how can i add some objects in the terrain?? like Houses and invisible meshes (to limit de path for the players)

Thanks in advance!!!
A caos world where only the strongest lives, weak is not an option... you must fight.. Nokturna!!

http://nokturna.varholl.com.ar
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

varholl >> wellcome aboard :)

This class is just terrain plus some usefull funcions. To add other stuff, use irrlicht scene nodes.

Also make sure you are using newer version of this class:
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... sc&start=0
slaaitjuh
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 5:07 pm

Post by slaaitjuh »

any chance there will be a translation / wrapper for cp net?

Regards,
Jan
christianclavet
Posts: 1638
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 3:24 am
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Contact:

Post by christianclavet »

Hi, Arras.

I've tried to compile it for Irrlicht 1.3.1.
This function seem's to be not implemented "IsceneNode::OnPreRender();"

From the thread your created your node using Irrlicht 1.2. I don't understand why this could have been removed.

Does someone tried to compile this over the last version of Irrlicht (1.3.1)?
At the moment, for me; it doesnt compile (I've commented the unsupported command and got a build error on DEV C++)
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

Hi,
it is because OnPreRender() was changed to OnRegisterSceneNode() in Irrlicht 1.3.

There were also some other changes like s32 changed to u32 in some ISceneNode functions.

Look to Irrlicht 1.3 readme for list of changes.

You can easily correct it by renaming that function.

But why do you want to use this class? ...I created new better terrain scene node for Irrlicht 1.3:
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... hp?t=20940
Post Reply