Tiled terrain scene node
addWaterSurfaceSceneNode manipulate wertices of scene node. In order to work with TlTerrainSceneNode it would need to manipulate data array.
If you want to have water in some parts of terrain I sugest to lower that area and place plane with water texture over it (you can use addWaterSurfaceSceneNode than). Terrain will than represent lake/river/sea bottom in this case.
You can even place water surface at given height and alll terrain lower than that will be "under water".
I think thats the simplest way howe to create water surface.
If you want to have water in some parts of terrain I sugest to lower that area and place plane with water texture over it (you can use addWaterSurfaceSceneNode than). Terrain will than represent lake/river/sea bottom in this case.
You can even place water surface at given height and alll terrain lower than that will be "under water".
I think thats the simplest way howe to create water surface.
the demo crashes after loading the random terrain, no debug information is sended,
i'am using windows dx 9
i'am using windows dx 9
Compete or join in irrlichts monthly screenshot competition!
Blog/site: http://rex.4vandorp.eu
Company: http://www.islandworks.eu/, InCourse
Twitter: @strong99
Blog/site: http://rex.4vandorp.eu
Company: http://www.islandworks.eu/, InCourse
Twitter: @strong99
I am just reworking whole code with some interesting resuls. TlTerrainSceneNode runs on more than double FPS now! ...but I haven't been planing to implement image heightmap loading yet. Mainly because I was not diging in part of Irrlicht which handle image manipulation till now and I don't know hove to do it.
I may look at it however if there is some interest ...and time.
I may look at it however if there is some interest ...and time.
-
- Posts: 49
- Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:36 pm
- Location: Bedford, UK
Hi All,
I have been writing a tiled terrain editor for use with this node, including mainpulation/creation of heightmap, Changing tile/array size, textures and other information per tile so you can place objects, mark as water/obstacle etc...
I've also been adding to the source code to allow for the loading of this data... I will post it to the group, both the editor and the source changes as soon as it gets releasable
Its just a case of finding the time...
Hope this helps.
Regards,
Bob
I have been writing a tiled terrain editor for use with this node, including mainpulation/creation of heightmap, Changing tile/array size, textures and other information per tile so you can place objects, mark as water/obstacle etc...
I've also been adding to the source code to allow for the loading of this data... I will post it to the group, both the editor and the source changes as soon as it gets releasable
Its just a case of finding the time...
Hope this helps.
Regards,
Bob
-
- Posts: 49
- Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:36 pm
- Location: Bedford, UK
Hi arras,
good point. I was thinking about this when I was writing the loader. I couldn't at the time find a reason for it to be seperate, however, I have been thinking about the ability to 'stream load' data in when you move out of coverage. (Think Google Earth) Quite what implications this will have on the loader and whether the data needs be seperate to the node, I'm not sure yet.
I will share any ideas I have when I come across them. At the moment though, it seems just fine as part of the node.
btw - Great work on that arras, It was just the feature I needed to decide to use Irrlicht as the rendering engine for our project.
Regards,
Bob
good point. I was thinking about this when I was writing the loader. I couldn't at the time find a reason for it to be seperate, however, I have been thinking about the ability to 'stream load' data in when you move out of coverage. (Think Google Earth) Quite what implications this will have on the loader and whether the data needs be seperate to the node, I'm not sure yet.
I will share any ideas I have when I come across them. At the moment though, it seems just fine as part of the node.
btw - Great work on that arras, It was just the feature I needed to decide to use Irrlicht as the rendering engine for our project.
Regards,
Bob
I'am glad you found it so usefull. And welcome to Irrlicht comunity Bob Please feel free to post any ideas you may have.
Separated data might be useful if you switch between diferent scenes in game. For example indoor/outdoor. If independent, data do not have to be loaded each time. However stored inside node it looks more user(programer) friendly and compact.
Separated data might be useful if you switch between diferent scenes in game. For example indoor/outdoor. If independent, data do not have to be loaded each time. However stored inside node it looks more user(programer) friendly and compact.
Hi everyone!!
I'm from Argentina and i'm new in the irrlicht community!!
I was looking the forums and read this thread, this terrain generator is awesome!!
But i need some help with other stuff... how can i add some objects in the terrain?? like Houses and invisible meshes (to limit de path for the players)
Thanks in advance!!!
I'm from Argentina and i'm new in the irrlicht community!!
I was looking the forums and read this thread, this terrain generator is awesome!!
But i need some help with other stuff... how can i add some objects in the terrain?? like Houses and invisible meshes (to limit de path for the players)
Thanks in advance!!!
A caos world where only the strongest lives, weak is not an option... you must fight.. Nokturna!!
http://nokturna.varholl.com.ar
http://nokturna.varholl.com.ar
varholl >> wellcome aboard
This class is just terrain plus some usefull funcions. To add other stuff, use irrlicht scene nodes.
Also make sure you are using newer version of this class:
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... sc&start=0
This class is just terrain plus some usefull funcions. To add other stuff, use irrlicht scene nodes.
Also make sure you are using newer version of this class:
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... sc&start=0
-
- Posts: 1638
- Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 3:24 am
- Location: Montreal, CANADA
- Contact:
Hi, Arras.
I've tried to compile it for Irrlicht 1.3.1.
This function seem's to be not implemented "IsceneNode::OnPreRender();"
From the thread your created your node using Irrlicht 1.2. I don't understand why this could have been removed.
Does someone tried to compile this over the last version of Irrlicht (1.3.1)?
At the moment, for me; it doesnt compile (I've commented the unsupported command and got a build error on DEV C++)
I've tried to compile it for Irrlicht 1.3.1.
This function seem's to be not implemented "IsceneNode::OnPreRender();"
From the thread your created your node using Irrlicht 1.2. I don't understand why this could have been removed.
Does someone tried to compile this over the last version of Irrlicht (1.3.1)?
At the moment, for me; it doesnt compile (I've commented the unsupported command and got a build error on DEV C++)
Hi,
it is because OnPreRender() was changed to OnRegisterSceneNode() in Irrlicht 1.3.
There were also some other changes like s32 changed to u32 in some ISceneNode functions.
Look to Irrlicht 1.3 readme for list of changes.
You can easily correct it by renaming that function.
But why do you want to use this class? ...I created new better terrain scene node for Irrlicht 1.3:
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... hp?t=20940
it is because OnPreRender() was changed to OnRegisterSceneNode() in Irrlicht 1.3.
There were also some other changes like s32 changed to u32 in some ISceneNode functions.
Look to Irrlicht 1.3 readme for list of changes.
You can easily correct it by renaming that function.
But why do you want to use this class? ...I created new better terrain scene node for Irrlicht 1.3:
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... hp?t=20940