Terrain deviding

You are an experienced programmer and have a problem with the engine, shaders, or advanced effects? Here you'll get answers.
No questions about C++ programming or topics which are answered in the tutorials!
Post Reply
slaaitjuh
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 5:07 pm

Terrain deviding

Post by slaaitjuh »

Hey guys,

I am using Irrlicht NET CP but that should not be an issue for this problem. I am currently working with newton and terrain, and i was wondering what the best options are on gaining performance with terrain. i was thinking of actually slicing the heightmap realtime and load each slice as a terrainscenenode so i can render whatever i think is nescensarry at that moment. This way it would fit into a tiling system i want to start using, in which ican create different newton worlds that are the size of each tile so it will cost less performance.

Do you guys have any idea if this approche would be good?

Jan
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

spintz have terrain manager which does something similar. Look at his engine.
slaaitjuh
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 5:07 pm

Post by slaaitjuh »

Ok. I am wondering if this feature can be implented in irrlicht. I think it is even a weird way of a scenenode it's functionallity to load terrain heightmap by itself, rathre then letting the user give the heightmap data, which provides the user a whole large scale of extra functionallity.

I think if you make an overload to the loadHeightMap in which a heightmap is loaded by the scenenode itself.

LoadHeightMap(string heightmaplocationfile)
{

loadheightmap(irrdevice->getTexture(.........));

}

loadheightmap(texture heightmaptexture)
{
............ the whole heightmap load function
}

somethingf like that..
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

Yes I agree. When I did my own terrain node there was simply setHeight() function. Its up to user to decide hove he want to load his data. But than lot of users requested load heightmap so I added such function too.
slaaitjuh
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 5:07 pm

Post by slaaitjuh »

yes ok but the adding it is a great option, but it is so easy to make this loading a heightmap an overload of the 'none texture loading' loadHeightMap, that i almost feel ashamed that i have to ask for this...

I will make a post in the request or whatever about this.
Post Reply