big object not rendered

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
jontan6
Posts: 278
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:29 pm

big object not rendered

Post by jontan6 »

Hello, I have a large object. building actually.

Image


but at certain angles, it is not rendered
Image

any settings i can set so that this is prevented? i have other big objects too behaving this way =)

thanks
JP
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:56 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by JP »

It'll be to do with frustrum culling. What format is the model? Some formats don't create good bounding boxes for the models and so they get culled a bit eagerly.

An easy test would be to render the bounding boxes and also to turn off the frustrum culling using node->setAutomaticCulling(EAC_OFF); (though this is something you shouldn't use as a solution, just as a test to see if this is indeed the problem, because otherwise your performance will suffer as the model will be always rendered, even if it's directly behind you and not visible at all)
Image Image Image
jontan6
Posts: 278
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:29 pm

Post by jontan6 »

the model is OBJ i put together in irredit

i tried inside irredit changing automatic culling properties, when set to box, it disappears. when i set to off, frustrum_box, and frustrum_sphere, its ok.

is it ok to use frustrum_box/sphere?

thanks!
JP
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:56 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by JP »

Yeah looks like frustrum box is the sensible option;

"box", // camera box against node box
"frustum_box", // camera frustum against node box
"frustum_sphere", // camera frustum against node sphere

but box seems to be the default... possibly it's more efficient but not quite as accurate as the frustrum.

but anyway, did you check that your model's bounding box looks sensible? i think in irredit you can make it display things like that.
Image Image Image
jontan6
Posts: 278
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:29 pm

Post by jontan6 »

thanks so much JP for the help.

Yes the bounding box shown in irredit seems ok. it just bounded exactly the whole building. i will just use frustrum_box for selected objects. this problem seems only occuring in very big object, which is just few in my scene.

thanks thanks
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

Note: Frustum, not frustrum.

I keep doing that as well. :)
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
JP
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:56 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by JP »

wow... i'm sure i've alway seen it as frustrum, but maybe that it's, i've been seeing it as frustrum, adding the r in myself :lol:

well i think frustrum sounds better anyway...
Image Image Image
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

Frustating, isn't it?
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Jallenbah
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 12:10 pm
Location: Vector3df(20.6, 4, 19.2);

Post by Jallenbah »

JP wrote:wow... i'm sure i've alway seen it as frustrum, but maybe that it's, i've been seeing it as frustrum, adding the r in myself :lol:

well i think frustrum sounds better anyway...
I thought it was Frustrum too. Wierd.
Post Reply