[fixed]Meshes disappearing

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Daniel FF
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:15 pm

[fixed]Meshes disappearing

Post by Daniel FF »

Hi,

Iam trying to migrate my project to 1.5 and i got some problems. The first is: the meshes keep disappearing and appear using d3d or opengl. i only tested in one video card and its a standard intel integrated 82454g family. The second problem is the somes textures looks like granulating in special when i move camera.

some idea ?

Thx!
Daniel FF
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:15 pm

Post by Daniel FF »

Another problem (its old, i guess) is:

Drawing 2d imagens show some bad results in some cards, using d3d or opengl, but looks ok using software rendering

Edited - please don't make us copy-and-paste a URL and then have to download an image, much as the Pilgrims must have done.

D3D:
Image

Software:
Image

thx again
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

Thanks for letting us know, but can I ask you to please re-read your bug report and consider whether it gives us enough information to be able to help you?

How to Report Bugs Effectively

Now, how would we go about replicating the problems that you are seeing?
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Daniel FF
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:15 pm

Post by Daniel FF »

hi Rogerborg,

Iam creating a node like this:

IAnimatedMesh* mesh = aSceneManager->getMesh("model.x");
IAnimatedMeshSceneNode* node = aSceneManager->addAnimatedMeshSceneNode(mesh);
node->setAutomaticCulling(EAC_FRUSTUM_BOX);
node->setMaterialFlag(EMF_LIGHTING, false);
node->setMaterialType(EMT_SOLID);
node->setMaterialFlag(EMF_NORMALIZE_NORMALS,true);

node->setMaterialTexture( 0, texture);

i dont have tested in gforce or ati cards, only in a standard intel, i will test more. If you wanna some more information, please, let me know.

thanks for reply!
Daniel FF
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:15 pm

Post by Daniel FF »

Another info: the problem start when i change node position, if he stay static he dont desappear
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

the draw2dimage problem looks like you're using the wrong dimensions. Can you show the code for that problem, too?
Also, your code still doesn't replicate the problem as it doesn't include the position changes. Is it enough to call setPosition once? What happens if the position stays teh same, despite calling setPosition continuously?
Daniel FF
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:15 pm

Post by Daniel FF »

In that image i dont use drawimage directly but button like this:

btnPlay= guienv->addButton(rect<int>(108,3,147,30),0,22,L"",L"Play Game");

btnPlay->setImage(g_driver->getTexture("./imgs/bt3.png"));

the texture dimension is: 40x28. In some cards its ok.

The problem with nodes, will make a small project to try reproduce problem and then i will post complete code.

Thx a lot guys!
Daniel FF
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:15 pm

Post by Daniel FF »

Hi,

I made a project and that reproduce the problem with nodes and with textures too, here the link :

http://www.mediafire.com/file/ibzmdf23mhz/MyIrrTest.zip

If you guys could test , please let me know the result, i have tested in 2 intel cards and node keep desappearing.

I didnt post code here cuz you will need the models and textures, but code and all files needed are in zip.
Thx again!
Daniel FF
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:15 pm

Post by Daniel FF »

The problem stop if you dont rotate the node , and granulating texture stop if camera keep static.

I will test in another video cards....
Daniel FF
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:15 pm

Post by Daniel FF »

Sorry for too much messages, but another info: if you use setAutomaticCulling(EAC_OFF) the problem stop too.

The problem with granulating textures looks like with texure size problem, if i use 256x256 its ok, but if i use 512x512 for example i got the problem...
:D
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

Oh nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.

This looks like yet another issue with matrix4::transformPlane(). I wish I'd never touched it now. :(

OK, I'll get on to this ASAP. Thanks for the bug report.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Daniel FF
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:15 pm

Post by Daniel FF »

Thx Rogerborg!

I think the problem with textures actually seems to be a problem with the edges. if you set EMF_WIREFRAME to true, you can clearly see some of them moving or shaking, at least on my card.
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

While I'm working on this, if you use the default EAC_BOX culling then the node will be visible. i.e. remove this:

Code: Select all

this->nodeChar->setAutomaticCulling(EAC_FRUSTUM_BOX);
And I'll continue to work on the plane transform issue.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

I've taken another poke at the matrix/plane issue in SVN 1969 (1.5 branch) and 1970 (trunk). You should be OK to continue using EAC_FRUSTUM_BOX now. Or not. I'm ready to be surprised.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Daniel FF
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:15 pm

Post by Daniel FF »

Nice ! I will download and test. and about the other problem (edges looks like moving using b3d models) ?

Thank you and keep the good job!
Post Reply