is there any way to control each child's material ?

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
go
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:53 am

is there any way to control each child's material ?

Post by go »

Hi, I want to control each child's material like under sourcecode

Code: Select all

	scene::ISceneNode* haL =  Node2->getXJointNode("child");
	haL->setMaterialFlag(video::EMF_POINTCLOUD, true);
But it can't do well. so I ask is there any way to control each child's material and is it possible?


Thanks!![/code]
JP
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:56 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by JP »

Well you're not getting the actual mesh, just a bone, which doesn't actually get rendered in any way so you're not actually affecting the mesh.

I don't think you can do what you want as the mesh is rendered once, all together so you'd need to load the mesh as individual models i think...
Image Image Image
go
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:53 am

Post by go »

OK, thanks.

I can control each material's setting before we load the mesh. but can't do it after rending it.


and I think there is some way to control, mayabe. hmm I'll tryi it thanks. if i can't do it. I'll load the mesh individual.
nathanf534
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 2:55 am

Post by nathanf534 »

Well you're not getting the actual mesh, just a bone
so, does this mean, i could make a model in blender, attach some bones, then modify the model, using the bones, inside of irrlicht? such as moving the gun on a tank?
while(signatureEmpty){cout<<wittyComment();}
go
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:53 am

Post by go »

Thanks for your reply.

I mean I want to change child's material like α value or make material pointcloud not to mean change bone's rotation or position,I've already done it.

Thanks
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

nathanf534 wrote:
Well you're not getting the actual mesh, just a bone
so, does this mean, i could make a model in blender, attach some bones, then modify the model, using the bones, inside of irrlicht? such as moving the gun on a tank?
Yes, that's what the bones are for. Read the Wiki documentation about the proper settings.
Post Reply