XEffects - Reloaded - New Release (V 1.4)
-
- Posts: 288
- Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:45 am
- Contact:
Blame AMD's drivers!The amount of crashes and general not-working-ness I've got over the times I've tried using XEffects, it wasn't immediately obvious.
It touches but puts them back when it's done, so in the end it doesn't change anything. The old one used to have an ordinary shadow mapping material that just gets set on them permanently. This new method has a performance penalty though in that it requires an extra pass, but that's the price you pay for material independence!Ah okay. I still remember your old XEffects where it was touching the Materials. Awesome to hear that this is not the case anymore.
ShadowMapping for Irrlicht!: Get it here
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
Crysis use Cascaded Shadow Maps (CSM), it's similar technique to Paraller Split Shadow Maps (PSSM).Nerexis wrote:Btw how outdoor shadows (and lights) are done in Crysis?
Library helping with network requests, tasks management, logger etc in desktop and mobile apps: https://github.com/GrupaPracuj/hermes
I can't reproduce this Nate_D, can you provide a working example with source that shows this problem clearly?
TIP: With the new multiple shadow map resolutions are runtime feature, you can decrease a light's resolution if it's further away, and increase it when it comes close. Make sure to clear all shadow maps regularly if you do this often. For best performance I recommend switching between 256, 512 and 1024 depending on far away the light is.
Cheers
This may be because I'm not taking the near value into consideration when scaling my depth values to clip space. I'll have to add that on the todo list.BUG: When big far value is set then objects near light dont cast shadows (they do when I lower far value).
TIP: With the new multiple shadow map resolutions are runtime feature, you can decrease a light's resolution if it's further away, and increase it when it comes close. Make sure to clear all shadow maps regularly if you do this often. For best performance I recommend switching between 256, 512 and 1024 depending on far away the light is.
Cheers
ShadowMapping for Irrlicht!: Get it here
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
-
- Posts: 914
- Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:43 pm
- Location: South Africa
- Contact:
Just as a recommendation, you should post some screenshots to show the actual errors.porcus wrote:Hi BlindSide,
I have some strange artifacts with ssao with your xeffects 1.1.
If I move the camera I get always black ugly stuff on the walls of the room.
(My graphics card: Ati Radeon HD3850)
TheQuestion = 2B || !2B
-
- Posts: 914
- Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:43 pm
- Location: South Africa
- Contact:
the ssao is interesting i must say. there are some tweaks i made to it and i changed a couple things...here are some screenshots.
without
with
without
with
Added some dof with the help of blindside, made a couple tweaks to that too (using the same thing)
out of focus (outside of range)
closer to focus (within focal range)
without
with
without
with
Added some dof with the help of blindside, made a couple tweaks to that too (using the same thing)
out of focus (outside of range)
closer to focus (within focal range)
You are probably seeing expected behavior, you should tweak the constants in the shader file to get rid of these artifacts. Mainly look at "SSAO_REACH" and some of the other ones.porcus wrote:Hi BlindSide,
I have some strange artifacts with ssao with your xeffects 1.1.
If I move the camera I get always black ugly stuff on the walls of the room.
(My graphics card: Ati Radeon HD3850)
ShadowMapping for Irrlicht!: Get it here
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
This SSAO is very very great when use a small far value but if you set to a large far value (over more ~800) result is:
far value = 50
far value = 800
and i try change SSAO_REACH to 5 and 10 result are:
SSAO_REACH = 5 (far value = 800)
SSAO_REACH = 10 (far value = 800)
I don't know what i miss in my code or this ssao not support a big scale ? Please suggest me.
best regards,
far value = 50
far value = 800
and i try change SSAO_REACH to 5 and 10 result are:
SSAO_REACH = 5 (far value = 800)
SSAO_REACH = 10 (far value = 800)
I don't know what i miss in my code or this ssao not support a big scale ? Please suggest me.
best regards,
It still needs some tweaking. Although the output still looks correct in the last screenshot.
Try changing some of the other values, like lowering the depth aliasing episilon to 0.01.
Of course with a smaller far value the depth buffer precision will be better, nothing we can do about that.
Try changing some of the other values, like lowering the depth aliasing episilon to 0.01.
Of course with a smaller far value the depth buffer precision will be better, nothing we can do about that.
ShadowMapping for Irrlicht!: Get it here
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net