Texture splatting without shaders ?

You are an experienced programmer and have a problem with the engine, shaders, or advanced effects? Here you'll get answers.
No questions about C++ programming or topics which are answered in the tutorials!
Post Reply
vincent-v
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:39 pm
Location: Valbonne, France

Texture splatting without shaders ?

Post by vincent-v »

Is there a way to acheive texture splatting without usage of shaders ? I found some informations about Sprintz' irrlicht which would implement this but there is no link to download it.

For those who already used 3D World Studio : did you understand how texture splatting is working in this software ? I didn't see any alphamap...

Thx for answers :wink:
B@z
Posts: 876
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:05 pm
Location: Hungary

Post by B@z »

i used 3d world studio for a short time, and there is an alpha map. just you make it in realtime (you can even export it XD)
Image
Image
3D Ace
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:47 am
Location: Swakopmund, Namibia
Contact:

Post by 3D Ace »

Is it really that hard to use one which uses Shaders? :shock: Shaders are by the way, waaaaaay faster than Fixed function/CPU rendering.
Everything is possible, IF you know how.
Checkout my website for my upcoming game.(Currently on hold!)
http://www.projectbattle360.webege.com
Image
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Half of my systems do not support shaders, at least not high-level ones. And many mobile systems don't have any. Depends on your target systems probably, but it's not just that simple.
Virion
Competition winner
Posts: 2148
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:04 am

Post by Virion »

hybrid wrote:Half of my systems do not support shaders, at least not high-level ones. And many mobile systems don't have any. Depends on your target systems probably, but it's not just that simple.
off-topic: omg hybrid, this is your 9999th post!
3D Ace
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:47 am
Location: Swakopmund, Namibia
Contact:

Post by 3D Ace »

Yeah seriously. 9999 Posts!!!! That's shrieking huge. :shock: :P
On the other hand I did see shaderless texture splatting somewere. I have no clue were though. If u change ur mind though I have lots of code for shader crazy texture splatting. :)
Everything is possible, IF you know how.
Checkout my website for my upcoming game.(Currently on hold!)
http://www.projectbattle360.webege.com
Image
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Virion wrote:
hybrid wrote:Half of my systems do not support shaders, at least not high-level ones. And many mobile systems don't have any. Depends on your target systems probably, but it's not just that simple.
off-topic: omg hybrid, this is your 9999th post!
Yeah, I really thought what I should post as my 10000th one, but I simply forgot to make it any special now :D
vincent-v
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:39 pm
Location: Valbonne, France

Post by vincent-v »

B@z wrote:i used 3d world studio for a short time, and there is an alpha map. just you make it in realtime (you can even export it XD)
Indeed you're right. But I'm confused because I still don't have the alphamap in the folder where I have exported my map to DBO format. Would it be embedded in the file ?
3D Ace wrote:Is it really that hard to use one which uses Shaders? Shocked Shaders are by the way, waaaaaay faster than Fixed function/CPU rendering.
hybrid wrote:Half of my systems do not support shaders, at least not high-level ones. And many mobile systems don't have any. Depends on your target systems probably, but it's not just that simple.
My graphics won't be very good so I think it is the opportunity to make my apps running on a wide range of systems. Moreover as Hybrid said it would be nice to have that texture splatting on mobile systems.
3D Ace wrote:On the other hand I did see shaderless texture splatting somewere. I have no clue were though. If u change ur mind though I have lots of code for shader crazy texture splatting. Smile
I'm interested by your proposal ^^ It will be useful if I cannot solve my problem.
hybrid wrote:Yeah, I really thought what I should post as my 10000th one, but I simply forgot to make it any special now Very Happy
Happy 10000th post :lol: The next opportunity to make a special post is very far away now ^^
B@z
Posts: 876
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:05 pm
Location: Hungary

Post by B@z »

yea probably it is in the dbo.

and here is that splatting what ace was talking about
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... hp?t=27002
i haven't use it, so i dont know if it works
Image
Image
vincent-v
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:39 pm
Location: Valbonne, France

Post by vincent-v »

Thank you, I'm going to try this :)
Post Reply