0.7 is very slower

Discuss about anything related to the Irrlicht Engine, or read announcements about any significant features or usage changes.
cmoibenlepro
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 3:18 pm
Location: Canada

Post by cmoibenlepro »

I confirm the slider don't work :(

Also I tried to compile techdemo0.6 with irrlicht0.7 to see if it still works (because the 2 techdemos are different)
But the button "start demo" don't do anything when you press it (so you can't start the demo).

the same thing happen with the user interface example. If you compile version 0.6 with irrlicht 0.7, the "quit", "new window" and "file open" buttons don't do anything, also the "transparency" slider don't make any change...


So I think there is surely changes in the GUI that make the old syntax obsolete. :(
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

@cmoibelenpro: you r compiling the techdemo with Relo and the toolkit? Cause if I compile it with VC6 or VC7 .net it compiles and runs and works ok, but when I try to do it with Relo I get the following error:
fatal error RC1107: invalid usage; use RC /? for Help


otherwise the techdemo works ok with MSVC6 and 7

and yup, it seems like the coding for uis and sliders in 0.6 is now obsolete

updates plz!

cheers!
Last edited by afecelis on Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Unarekin
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:02 pm

Post by Unarekin »

cmoibenlepro wrote:I confirm the slider don't work :(

Also I tried to compile techdemo0.6 with irrlicht0.7 to see if it still works (because the 2 techdemos are different)
But the button "start demo" don't do anything when you press it (so you can't start the demo).

the same thing happen with the user interface example. If you compile version 0.6 with irrlicht 0.7, the "quit", "new window" and "file open" buttons don't do anything, also the "transparency" slider don't make any change...


So I think there is surely changes in the GUI that make the old syntax obsolete. :(
It's a change in the createDevice() function, the parameters've been juggled about.
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

The error I posted above is when trying to compile an icon resource mixed with audiere or other external engine. I removed the rc from the relo project and everything compiles ok till the end, where i get this error:

C:\Irrlicht\examples\Techdemo\ReloTechDemo.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals

@cmoibelenpro: So let us know if the problems you got with the techdemo r when compiling it with Relo or msvc
Image
cmoibenlepro
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 3:18 pm
Location: Canada

Post by cmoibenlepro »

found! :D

change the following line in the particle editor:

Code: Select all

device = createDevice(video::EDT_DIRECTX9, core::dimension2d<s32>(800, 600), 32, false, false, this);
to:

Code: Select all

device = createDevice(video::EDT_DIRECTX9, core::dimension2d<s32>(800, 600), 32, false, false, false, this);
works like a charm :wink:

the explanation? there is a new parameter in createDevice called vsync.
if you don't add this additional false, it pass the gui events to the vsync instead of the gui reciever. :lol:

it's the same bug I got with the techdemo and gui example. Now they are working both now. :wink:
fatal error RC1107: invalid usage; use RC /? for Help
sorry I don't get this error. Did you use the ressource file that come with the techdemo? I got problem with it, so I just used the same rc file that I used in my example... you only need the icon.

also to compile the techdemo I needed to compile it as a windows application because I was getting errors othewise (but I needed to modify the ressource line in the msvc.ini file, to:
ResCompileCmd=rc -fo"$OUT" "$IN"
(the same thing I used for the console application settings))

hope it helps. :wink:
Unarekin
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:02 pm

Post by Unarekin »

cmoibenlepro wrote:if you don't add this additional false, it pass the gui events to the vsync instead of the gui reciever. :lol:
Nah, it tries to vsynch the event receiver. ;)
cmoibenlepro
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 3:18 pm
Location: Canada

Post by cmoibenlepro »

Nah, it tries to vsynch the event receiver
LOL :lol: anyway...

BTW it was a difficult bug to solve for me (both cpp files from 0.6 and 0.7 look exactly the same.)
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

wohoooo!!!

yup, it works like a charm.

dunno what that extra vsync option does (besides vsyncing, lol) but now it's fixed.

thnx man!

gonna try the other relo fix
Image
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

@cmoibelenpro:

it worked! thnx, as usual. I got some questions though. If I include the icon resource file I get errors. R u compiling the icon rc as well? are you getting audio output on your relo techdemo version exe?

one last general question: It takes a lot of time to unload everything and go back to windows. The music and dos windows stay there for several seconds before going back to normal state. Is anybody else experiencing this lagg? oh yes, and If I compile my stuff using a DX renderer stuff loads up immediately, but if I use OpenGL it takes several seconds to start loading stuff. Is opengl doing some sort of pre-caching or something?

cheers!
Image
brc-not-logged

Post by brc-not-logged »

Afecelis, just to let you know:

Vsynching is basically something you can set so a certain frame rate is maintained in relation to the monitors refresh rate at a certain resolution. So, for example, let's say that at 800X600 a 85 mhz refresh is set, then basically, you can't exceed 85 FPS. It is basically to make transitions of frames as smooth as possible, but sometimes has negative effects. Keep in mind though, that the human eye can only process 60 FPS, so everything above it is basically useless, hehe :D
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

thnx brc, I think I felt the effects of vsyncing in doom3. It's off by default and sometimes when turning around you could see the rendering process going line by line which would really hurt your eyes.

I had to turn Vsyncing on, but gamers usually recommend to leave it off.

Is it on or off in Irrlicht? oh yes, the third false is for it, right?

thnx thnx thnx
Image
Post Reply