Texturing doesn't work with IrrEdit 0.5

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding game design, integration of external libraries here. For irrEdit, irrXML and irrKlang, see the
ambiera forums
Post Reply
Mercator
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 4:31 pm

Texturing doesn't work with IrrEdit 0.5

Post by Mercator »

I made a model of a house and textured it as good as I could in blender.
After loading the .3ds file in IrrEdit and creating a light my House was colored in the colors I used in Blender, but the textures were gone.

So I started to texture the roof in IrrEdit. The color changed to something similar to the texture I wanted to use, but I couldn't see any bricks.
Did I do something wrong?
I loaded the mesh of the test room which comes with IrrEdit and tried to texture it. Woked perfect. The wall was textured with my brick-texture.

Why doesn't my house want to get textured?
Is there a button for saying: "Don't ask me for the textures, use the ones I created in Blender"?
monkeycracks
Posts: 1029
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 12:45 am
Location: Tennesee, USA
Contact:

Post by monkeycracks »

for some reason with blender you have to use planar texture mapping...

like this.

Code: Select all

smgr->getMeshManipulator()->makePlanarTextureMapping(
		YOURMESH->getMesh(0), 1.0f);

that should work...



make sure you do that before

YOURNODE = smgr->addAnimatedMeshSceneNode(YOURMESH);
BizzleSnap
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:17 am

same problem with milkshape

Post by BizzleSnap »

Yeah, i made a glock in milkshape, textrures and all, and when i load it, it shows up black, same with the terrain i made too. Is there a workaround for that too?
sgt_pinky
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 11:20 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by sgt_pinky »

Try

YourNode->setMaterialFlag(LIGHTING, False);

The flag has a different name than 'LIGHTING', but you get the idea.
Intellectuals solve problems - geniuses prevent them. -- Einstein
#irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
Mercator
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 4:31 pm

Post by Mercator »

Is there no way to preview everything in IrrEdit? Does anyone know some attributes in Blender I have to set to use plannar texture mapping?
sgt_pinky
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 11:20 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by sgt_pinky »

Ah, oops. IrrEdit. Try going to the 'Material' tab of your added object, and make sure 'Lighting' is unchecked. When you add a new static mesh, Lighting is on by default. If you have no lights, then your object will be black - just like real life! :lol:
Intellectuals solve problems - geniuses prevent them. -- Einstein
#irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
Mercator
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 4:31 pm

Post by Mercator »

I tried, what you said, but everything just gets red when I try to texture it with my red-brick-texture.

I made some Screenshots:

Testroom works:
Image


House does not (same result with LIGHTING disabled):
Image
Post Reply