Compiled examples causing Illegal operation

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Domarius

Compiled examples causing Illegal operation

Post by Domarius »

Hi everyone - I'm new to Irrlicht, and really looking forward working with it.

I open "1. Hello World\example.dev", check that the "\include" folder is added to the "Include Directories" list, and that the 3 library files from "\lib\DevCpp" are linked.
Hit "compile and run".

The window starts to appear (the one that will have the "hello world" and the sydney model girl in it), but only the border gets drawn, and I get one of those "example.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience." error windows. (I'm using WinXP)

This also happens when following the Irrlicht Dev-C++ tute.
(Which actually seems to have some errors in it - I think "DT_SOFTWARE" should be "EDT_SOFTWARE", judging from the original "Hello World" example. And it says to add "\include" to the "Include Directories" list, but the screen shot shows it added to the "Libraries Directories" list.)

I pasted the "Irrlicht.dll" from the "bin\DevCpp" folder to "windows\system32"
If I use the "Irrlicht.dll" from the "bin\VisualStudio" instead, I get a system error saying something about not finding something in Irrlicht.dll, so I figure that's the wrong one to use.

All the 'template' examples that come with Dev-C++ work.

Any suggestions on why it crashes?

Post by Guest »