shadows

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Post Reply
VeneX as Guest

shadows

Post by VeneX as Guest »

It seems the shadow function on fullscreen doesn't work in version 0.6 either. How can this be solved, or will this been solved the next version?
VeneX
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 3:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by VeneX »

Please, does anybody know why it doesn't work?
IrrlichtDevice *device = createDevice(video::EDT_DIRECTX8, core::dimension2d<s32>(1024, 768), 32, true, true);
this seems to be ok.
Visit my website @ www.venex.be
Plethora project will be added to the site
AMD AthlonXP 2600+, 512MB DDR, Radeon M10 (mobile 9600) PRO 64MB, WinXP
Kelo
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 2:57 pm
Location: Argentina

Yes

Post by Kelo »

Yes, i've got the same problem. If you use opengl, maybe the shadows work fine... but with directx (8 and 9) dosn't work (in fullscreen mode).
Please, somebody have a answer for that?? :(
Kelo
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 2:57 pm
Location: Argentina

Post by Kelo »

If i use:
IrrlichtDevice *device = createDevice(video::EDT_DIRECTX8, core::dimension2d<s32>(1024, 768), 16, true, true);
the shadows work fine (in 16 bits mode), but in 32 bits doesn't.
VeneX
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 3:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by VeneX »

Shadows won't even work in 16 bits mode....
Visit my website @ www.venex.be
Plethora project will be added to the site
AMD AthlonXP 2600+, 512MB DDR, Radeon M10 (mobile 9600) PRO 64MB, WinXP
niko
Site Admin
Posts: 1759
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 4:44 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by niko »

Hm, I think it depends on your hardware.. it works on all of my pcs..
VeneX
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 3:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by VeneX »

The shadow in the FX tutorial does work, even on my PC
The source is herehttp://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... php?t=2393.
Visit my website @ www.venex.be
Plethora project will be added to the site
AMD AthlonXP 2600+, 512MB DDR, Radeon M10 (mobile 9600) PRO 64MB, WinXP
LordNaikon
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 5:34 pm
Location: Germany Berlin
Contact:

Post by LordNaikon »

on my bill gates pc it is so that the shadows sometimes work and sometimes not ( in 32bit fullscreen) they are always working in windows mode and/or 16 bit.

cpu: amd athlon xp barton 2500+ & 512 MB ram
os: Bill Gates Microsoft winXP + sp1
gfx: Geforce TI 4200 (newest driver)
dx: 9.0b sdk 9.0
irr: 0.6
Tyn
Posts: 932
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 7:53 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Tyn »

Me neither, tho I haven't tried in windowed mode, only FS. Seems quite random I think which is weird. I've got pretty much the same system as the guy above but with a P4 2.8gHz
Kelo
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 2:57 pm
Location: Argentina

Post by Kelo »

OK, i was thinking... if the problem with the shadows are the driver... then: why the shadow function work fine in the tech demo (with all the drivers and options), but when i compile (with dev-cpp and Visual Studio.NET), it doesn't work (with directx in 32 bits)?. I think that they're another problem.

I experiment the same problem than LordNaikon.

-My video card is a NVidia Geforce FX 5200 (128 MB DDR)

and i'm using Windows XP (with the two compilers)
DarkWhoppy
Posts: 386
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 12:43 pm
Contact:

Post by DarkWhoppy »

I found that shadows only work when your desktop is in the same color depth as the engine. (tried this quite a few times...) If my destop was in 16bit color, no shadows. I switch to 32bit (which is what I compiled the engine under) and shadows worked fine. Hope that helps someone...
Programmer of the Irrlicht Scene Editor:
Homepage - Forum Thread
Version 2 on its way!!
niko
Site Admin
Posts: 1759
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 4:44 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by niko »

Ah, interesting.
buezi
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 3:52 pm

Post by buezi »

Hi niko, I have the same problem as DarkWhoppy: Shadows work when the color-depth of windows is equal to the one of irrlicht (or vice versa :wink:), otherwise: No shadows! Also, with shadows I have only half of the normal fps!
Thanks for your effort and cheers

buezi
thesmileman
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 2:20 am
Location: Lubbock, TX

Post by thesmileman »

buezi wrote:Also, with shadows I have only half of the normal fps!
That would make since as the engine would have to render those shadows. :D
Guest

Post by Guest »

yes, off course, but I exptected the penalty to be a little smaller. Maybe its a problem of my graphcis card or driver (ati mobility radeon 9200)
cheers buezi
Post Reply