Question about this engine

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.

Question about this engine

Post by Guest »

I am a beginner student of direct3d and c++, i have 3 years of experience using visual basic, also i have experience making games with "Game Maker" a 2d game maker.
Could you recommend me what to do? I want to make commercial 3d games, should i keep studiyng direct3d? or should i just change to this engine and learn to use it and make games with it?.
Thanks ind advance.
azari

Post by azari »

Do Both! That's what I am doing... I descided that this engine fits most (if not all :D ) of my needs...so I chose it. I am also learning Directx/3d. I am doing this because if there is ever a point in my project when I need to alter something in the engine source...or I'm trying to add something new to accomidate for one of my features, I can just program it in myself. So if I were you, I would examine Irrlicht to see if it meets most of your needs, and then use it and learn Directx/3d to mod it if u need to.
Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.
blayde

Post by blayde »

im not someone into 3d engines too mcuh, but if you haven't started directx too much then you might want to consider studying opengl. i've heard it's easier to learn and simpler to understand.

opengl is also what id use ( quake & doom ) so it must be pretty good.

but what is it exactly do you want to do ? commercial games involve a _lot_ of work. was there anything specific you wanted to do ?

remember engines and langauges are just tools to use to accomplish your goals. your goals are the most important thing to decide.

good luck
Fussel

Post by Fussel »