How do I make an engine?

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.

How do I make an engine?

Post by Guest »

I know this is probably a hard thing to answer in a small post, but please give me some starting help... I want to make a 2d game to start with.. And also, how do I make the program/game respond as soon as the user presses a key, not just when they press a key and then enter, like in the cin command...
Christian

Post by Christian »

go to the FAQ section, you will find the input thing you are looking for.
there is a tutorial for making 2d graphics on the main site also.
well, are you tring to do a 3d engine like irrlicht? or you mean a game engine?
c0p5g4

Post by c0p5g4 »

heh, it was me starting the thread, I thought I was logged in...
Anyway, I'm trying to do a game engine.. I'm pretty new at programming, so I don't understand much really.. I just understand things in my fat book, but nothing in the book give me any clues how to do anything else than DOS apps... I guess I have to buy a new book or something,..
I'm the best there is! I can make textbased games!!! haha!!

Post by Guest »

do you plan do make a game engine alone and without much experience of c++ and opengl or directx api? i wouldnt do it :? its too much for you to handle, believe me. ok try it, i dont say that it is impossible, but if you dont have much experience it will be very hard...i tried it by myself :roll: (btw: i canceled after 3-4 days *g* ) but why do you even want to make an own engine? irrlicht is very easy to use and is good, too. if 0.7 is out it will be even better 8)
Christian

Post by Christian »

if you are new, i recommend leaving irrlicht for a while and start with Game Maker 5.0, later learn c++ and come back to irrlicht :)
Romul

Post by Romul »