IrrWizard?

Announce new projects or updates of Irrlicht Engine related tools, games, and applications.
Also check the Wiki
Veldrin
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 5:55 pm

Post by Veldrin »

Ok, firstly a want to add only terrain. In the function
void CGameStateLevel01::Init(CGameManager* pManager)

I add

Code: Select all

// add terrain scene node

	scene::ITerrainSceneNode* terrain = smgr>addTerrainSceneNode( "media/terrain-heightmap.bmp");
    terrain->setScale(core::vector3df(40, 4.4f, 40));
    terrain->setMaterialFlag(video::EMF_LIGHTING, false);
    terrain->setMaterialTexture(0, driver->getTexture("media/terrain-texture.jpg"));
    terrain->setMaterialTexture(1, driver->getTexture("media/detailmap3.jpg"));
    terrain->setMaterialType(video::EMT_DETAIL_MAP);
    terrain->scaleTexture(1.0f, 20.0f);

     // create triangle selector for the terrain
     scene::ITriangleSelector* selector =
    smgr->createTerrainTriangleSelector(terrain, 0);
    terrain->setTriangleSelector(selector);
    selector->drop();

In header files i add

Code: Select all

scene::ISceneNode* Terrain;
    video::IVideoDriver* driver;
    scene::ISceneManager* smgr;
After copile everythin is ok, but I launch game, and click play the game crashes.

I can't do anything in Irrwizard, i am so stupid :( :wink:
area51
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:20 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by area51 »

You have to go through the GameManager for most things, for example to get hold Irrlicht's SceneManager you would do something like this:

Code: Select all

     pManager->getSceneManager();
So change 'smgr' to 'pManager->getSceneManager()'

Also you will need to add the terrain's triangle selector to the GameManager's metaTriangle selector, something like:

Code: Select all

     pManager->getMetaSelector()->addTriangleSelector(selector );


Take a closer look at CGameManager as it's probably the most important class in the framework, everything goes through it.

Good luck
________
NEVADA MEDICAL MARIJUANA DISPENSARIES
Last edited by area51 on Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mr-Muskrat
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 9:56 am
Location: Finland

Post by Mr-Muskrat »

Hello, I`l just downloaded IrrWizard, I was just wondering.. Inside of some folders are packed data, should I extract them? Well, I already did it :oops: And then there are: audiere.lib`s there is no: "Extract here" funktion, what I should do whit it?
Muskrat is beutifull mammal!
Mr-Muskrat
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 9:56 am
Location: Finland

Post by Mr-Muskrat »

[Edit]

Sorry for double post. :(
Last edited by Mr-Muskrat on Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Muskrat is beutifull mammal!
area51
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:20 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by area51 »

You need to unzip the zip file somewhere on your system, then run the IrrWizard.exe.

Then you follow the wizard filling in the required fields and options to create a project.
________
Ford Mondeo History
Last edited by area51 on Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mr-Muskrat
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 9:56 am
Location: Finland

Post by Mr-Muskrat »

Thank you Area51!

Is IrrWizard`s use easyer with visual studio? I tried it with DevC++ But I have no programming skills! If I understanded everything correctly with IrrWizard can make games without programming skills? Is that correct?
Muskrat is beutifull mammal!
area51
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:20 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by area51 »

Hi,

No, you will need some kind of programming skills.

However that shouldnt stop you if you want to learn. Start off by changing little things, like the name of the map, or different models by changing the model name etc.

I like Visual Studio better, although niether are easier than each other.
________
Colorado Dispensaries
Last edited by area51 on Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
BattleElf
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post by BattleElf »

Hi guys, great work ;)

Anyway I've found a bug in the config.xml handling. If the game can't find one of the elements it's looking for in the config file, it just crashes.

To see what I mean just simply rename the ScreenResolution tag - all I did was remove the 'S' - and then run the game. I have yet to find a fix.
dawasw
Posts: 357
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 4:39 pm
Location: Poland

Post by dawasw »

Very nice , cool pathfinding!

As Im quite amateur in programming (I develop some wow like game) and my fps demo I made so far is so weak I would like to use your Framework to design some FPS. (Its just I always wanted to make fps lol)

But is it really fully free & such ? I mean I need to make some pre-screen with Irrwizard logo or I can just mention it in credits ? (might be stupid question but some people really are touchy on that sort of stuff)
area51
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:20 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by area51 »

Thanks BattleElf, we can correct that for the next release.

@dawasw If you find it usefull then feel free to do what you want with it, game wise that is. The logo's just there to fill space.

Mentioning it in credits would be nice, but not necessary, it's basically the same licence as Irrlicht.

Good luck.
________
Extreme Q Vaporizer
Last edited by area51 on Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Human Shield
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:48 pm

Post by Human Shield »

Veldrin wrote:Ok, firstly a want to add only terrain.

After copile everythin is ok, but I launch game, and click play the game crashes.

I can't do anything in Irrwizard, i am so stupid :( :wink:
I got terrain working. The loadmap function does a lot more then I think it should, it loads the map and the camera and camera controls and skybox. I guess it requires tweaking if you want to do anything besides Q3 maps, and different skybox per level.

Here is my init, needs camera setup and pManger calls to get everything.

Code: Select all

void CGameStateLevel01::Init(CGameManager* pManager)
{
	// perform generic initialisation from parent
	CGamePlayState::Init(pManager);	
	//CGamePlayState::loadMap(pManager, "20kdm2.bsp", core::vector3df(-1300,-144,-1249));

   scene::ITerrainSceneNode* terrain = pManager->getSceneManager()->addTerrainSceneNode( "media/terrain-heightmap.bmp"); 
    terrain->setScale(core::vector3df(40, 4.4f, 40)); 
    terrain->setMaterialFlag(video::EMF_LIGHTING, false); 
    terrain->setMaterialTexture(0, pManager->getDriver()->getTexture("media/terrain-texture.jpg")); 
    terrain->setMaterialTexture(1, pManager->getDriver()->getTexture("media/detailmap3.jpg")); 
    terrain->setMaterialType(video::EMT_DETAIL_MAP); 
    terrain->scaleTexture(1.0f, 20.0f); 

   
scene::ICameraSceneNode* camera = camera = pManager->getSceneManager()->addCameraSceneNodeFPS();
camera->setFarValue(12000.0f);



	pManager->getPlayer()->Init(pManager); // 100% Health & Ammo
}
area51
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:20 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by area51 »

Yes, most definately! Needs to be at least broken down, the function is doing way too much. I've done this to a limited extent in the CVS for next release.

Idealy it needs to be moved out of that class into a new manager.
________
Twin
Last edited by area51 on Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Human Shield
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:48 pm

Post by Human Shield »

How do I assess mouse wheel data at CGamePlayState::MouseEvent?

It seems to just pass characters for type of action, how do you get event.MouseInput.Wheel value?

Code: Select all

void CGamePlayState::MouseEvent(CGameManager* pManager)
{
	switch(pManager->getMouse()) 
    { 
		case EMIE_LMOUSE_PRESSED_DOWN:	
             // mouse left button pressed code/function call here
 	         break;
		case EMIE_RMOUSE_PRESSED_DOWN:	
		     // mouse right button pressed code/function call here   
			 break;
		case EMIE_MOUSE_WHEEL:
			// zoom cam
			SEvent event;
			float newFOV = pCamera->getFOV() + (event.MouseInput.Wheel/20);
			if (newFOV < 2 && newFOV > 1)
				pCamera->setFOV(pCamera->getFOV() + (event.MouseInput.Wheel/20));
			break;

	}
}
Does nothing from mouse wheel movement, event.MouseInput.Wheel is some broken value.

Code: Select all

		case EMIE_MOUSE_WHEEL:
			// zoom cam 
			float newFOV = pCamera->getFOV() + 0.01;
			if (newFOV < 2 && newFOV > 1)
				pCamera->setFOV(pCamera->getFOV() + 0.01;
			break;
Zooms in no matter which way you spin the mouse wheel.
dawasw
Posts: 357
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 4:39 pm
Location: Poland

Post by dawasw »

I have a strange problem with framework.

I have Windows XP sp2 and when I compile (devcpp) the whole project it doesn't run. I didn't make any changes into the project.

I have set up everything like in tutorials I tried few Irrlicht dlls (got few 1.0 with patches without) also with correct libraries to each , but unfortunately after I start the game it loads a level in console and closes the window.

I'm just curious what that might be. (PS I tried some demo found on sourceforge to download and it worked but I think it used irrWiz for irr 0.14)
jaymel6
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 6:11 pm

Irrwizard adding addtional enemy

Post by jaymel6 »

Hi I succesfully loaded and change the enemy on the FPS framework I just wondering if it is posible to load additional enemy on the same level, I copy the function how to load enemy on the cgamelevel1.cpp and duplicate to enemy2, but somehow when I running 2 enemy at the same they merge together even I change the getwaypoint. please advice me how can I change the path of the other enemy

thanks a million
Post Reply